Purple Haze

March 28, 2008 at 2:23 am 4 comments

haze_yarn.jpg

I recently picked this (and a few other skeins of purple yarn) at my local thrift store. I had never thought of looking for yarn at a thrift store, but apparently it is a gold mine for scrap yarn, needles and vintage patterns. This skein was packed up with my other purple skeins and cost about a dollar and a half total. This yarn in particular was interesting to me, mainly for it’s interesting name (“Haze”) and then for its intriguing fiber content:

haze_yarn2.jpg

Wow. Good thing I’m no yarn snob. I am looking for the perfect crazy, ironic vintage pattern to use with yarn for a birthday gift for a friend who loves purple.

On another note, I added my stash to Ravelry! What a wonderful resource for knitters and crocheters. I can finally keep track of projects and yarn all at one, well-organized place. Hurray, Ravelry!

Entry filed under: Blogroll, Knitting, Uncategorized.

Still Here… Another refashion

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Berry  |  March 28, 2008 at 11:06 am

    Oh I love that yarn!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Kiva, Southern Girl Musings  |  March 28, 2008 at 10:35 pm

    The thrift store is a great place to score yarn if you aren’t a yarn snob. 🙂 Love that purple…

    Reply
  • 3. Kim Morgan  |  April 18, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    I love that purple yarn! I have also found tons of knitting needles and crochet hooks at thrift stores and yard sales. One time this lady gave me all of her knitting needles for a couple dollars. Can you believe the luck?! Crafting is fun and economical!

    Reply
  • 4. Dejah Thoris  |  January 9, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    I love thrifting yarn. I get some of the most amazing deals on expensive yarns I could never afford otherwise. As for a project idea, I’d think something wash clothes in the shape of pot leaves would be a funny play on the purple “haze” concept;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

My most Recent Posts


