Still Here…

March 25, 2008 at 5:53 pm 1 comment

Things have been crazy busy, what with school, work and my internship. Sadly, the one area of my life that has been neglected is my sewing and knitting. I did manage to finish this blouse several weeks ago. It’s made of some challis that I got on sale at Hancock Fabrics. I can’t remember the pattern but I will post the pattern number when I am able to look for it. It was relatively easy to complete however, the pattern called for much more fabric than I actually used (nearly double). So, alas, I have quite a bit of leftover fabric from this project. Has anyone else had this problem? It seems to me that most patterns I use call for much more fabric than they actually require. I hope it’s not just me…

Here is the completed blouse:

challis_print_top.jpg

Some details include an empire waist with ties and puffed sleeved. I did some minor alterations to the pattern, including raising the hem about 3-4 inches so that it was a more attractive length.

I have also finished two knitting projects! Posts to come, soon. Another thing that is totally sucking away any crafting time is my new obession with Ravelry. I know I am probably a little late in joining this community but I am totally hooked! What a great concept for a website, it’s so inpiring to see such a collection of talent. If you haven’t already and you’re a knitter or crocheter, check it out. You will not be disappointed.

It’s been six months since I joined Wardrobe Refashion and I am happy to say I have not purchased new clothes, however I am saddened to mention that I have barely made any new clothes, either. I have plans, big plans, but they are often hard to execute due to lack of time. Anyhow, in honor of my sx month pledge I have included some fun refashioning tips from a vintage sewing book that I own. It’s the Singer MakeOver Guide (circa 1952) and is full of wonderful tips to take your outdated wardrobe into a new season. Make sure to click on the photos to see the large view. Enjoy!

vintage_makeover1.jpg

vintage_makeover3.jpg

vintage_makeover2.jpg

Entry filed under: Blogroll, Sewing, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Worst blogger in the world… Purple Haze

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Berry  |  March 26, 2008 at 10:03 am

    Glad to see you’re still here ;o) This is a nice blouse.

    I’m thinking in joining wardrobe refashion too… Congrats on your achievement so far ;o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

My most Recent Posts


