‘Tis the season…

November 28, 2007 at 6:42 pm 3 comments

for new coats!

Sorry I’ve been gone so long. School and work take up loads of time. I have been working on a few new projects, and now that the weather is dipping into the low 50’s, it’s time for a proper winter coat!

I started with a light holiday jacket, from this pattern:

holiday_jacket1.jpg

The finished product (sans the buttons and some light finishing):

holiday_jacket3.jpg

Front view

holiday_jacket2.jpg

Side view

holiday_jacket4.jpg

Back view

The Pattern: Simplicity has just put out a new line of sewing patterns that are “inspired” by Project Runway, where they have a basic style that you can customize with ribbons, different lengths, cuffs, fabrics, etc. to make it your own style. At first glance, the pattern is a bit complicated to understand, but after a few moments of reading (always read your patterns completely through before beginning your project!), it was  a cinch. Cost of pattern: $1.99

The fabric: I used a wool blend that has grays, blacks, and shiny gold running through the plaid. It was 50% off, so the outer fabric was $7.00. I used a shiny butter yellow charmeuse for the lining (polyester) $3.00.

Notions: Thread and buttons (vintage) from my stash.

Total cost of holiday jacket: $11.99

The pictures make it look very homely, when in fact it is very flattering and adorable!

Here is the pattern I am using for my next coat:

mccalls_jacket.jpg

I am doing this in butter “suede”, with no applique and covered buttons. Post to follow soon!

I learned a nice little tip while beginning the above coat. I just bought a brand new iron and like a fool, I accidently ironed the wrong side of some fusible interfacing!! A quick search on-line led to this great tip:

1.) Lay out a brown paper back flat on the floor or ironing board.
2.) Cover with several tablespoons of table salt.
3.) With your iron on its highest setting, iron the salt in a circular motion.
4.) Continue to do so until all of the burned interfacing has been removed.
5.) Let iron cool and wipe with soft rag.

It got rid of the melted interfacing in seconds! My iron is back to new.
 

Entry filed under: Blogroll, Crafts, Sewing.

I’m still here… Merry Christmas!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Berry  |  November 28, 2007 at 7:23 pm

    Wow, the pattern pocket would not have caught my eye but I love this jacket and it’s a nice fabric choice.

    Reply
  • 2. Ika  |  November 28, 2007 at 7:46 pm

    Thanks for the tips on how to clean a messy iron! I’ll put them to use asap, as I have also succeeded in getting fusible interface on mine. It’s so funny how I stumbled upon this blog post (via wardrobe refashion), as I just earlier today discussed this matter in a crafting forum. 🙂

    By the way, that coat pattern from McCall’s looks lovely! I think you’ve made a good decision on not including the appliqué. As much as I’m into that ethnic-inspired type of decoration I honestly think that this particular coat is better of without it.

    Reply
  • 3. Roxanne  |  November 30, 2007 at 5:11 am

    Hi! I also found you through Wardrobe Refashion. I just bought that Hillary Duff pattern myself, but I haven’t decided what fabric I’d like to use yet. I’m also a little nervous because I think even the largest size may not be right for me. I will definitely be learning some new sewing tricks for this one.

    I can’t wait to see pictures of how yours turns out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives

My most Recent Posts


