My Mom

October 30, 2007 at 3:09 pm 11 comments

I thought I would share this beautiful sweater my mom made for me last Christmas. I have yet an occasion to wear it, this being hot, hot, Texas, and the sweater is quite warm Well, Fall weather is finally here and I can not wait to bust this sweater out! My mom put a lot of time and effort into it, and it really shows. It is absolutely beautiful.

mom_sweater.jpg

Here is a close-up of the detail on the sleeves:

mom_sweater3.jpg

It is knit in Knit Picks Elegance, which is 80% Baby Alpaca and 20% cashmere…sooooo soft. My mom taught me how to knit when I was 7 or 8. I used to love making things, even back then. I stopped knitting for nearly 10 years, until about 6 years ago I picked it up again, with the help of my mom. She is a super good knitter, and now we exchange patterns, tips and more. She helps me out a lot, even though she is 2,000 miles away. Any time I encounter a problem in a pattern, she works through it with me on the telephone!! That is some good parenting, right there. Well, I hope you enjoy my Christmas sweater. I am finishing up a few more projects today, that I will post tonight.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, Knitting. Tags: , , , .

Refashioned Sweater into Cardigan A new dress…

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coco8199  |  October 30, 2007 at 3:36 pm

    That is gorgeous!

    Reply
  • 2. bruisinraincloud  |  October 30, 2007 at 4:22 pm

    simply beautiful!

    Reply
  • 3. Anna  |  October 30, 2007 at 5:18 pm

    Oh that is GORGEOUS! Just the thing for chilly North Wales!

    Reply
  • 4. l3ahkn1ts  |  October 30, 2007 at 7:02 pm

    very pretty! did she tell you the name of the pattern by chance?

    Reply
  • 5. Emilee  |  October 30, 2007 at 11:37 pm

    What a beautiful sweater!

    Reply
  • 6. Jill  |  October 31, 2007 at 12:49 pm

    I think I shall teach my Mom how to knit, therefore, she can knit a gorgeous sweater for me too! 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. jujuridl  |  October 31, 2007 at 11:22 pm

    You are the luckiest ducky! Go, mom!

    Reply
  • 8. ericamakesstuff  |  November 1, 2007 at 3:04 am

    Thanks for all your kind comments, I am glad (and my mom is too) that you all like the sweater. The pattern is from Knit Picks, and is called “Kimono Style Sweater”. I think that pattern is out of print, but you may be able to find it on ebay.

    Reply
  • 9. southerngirlmusings  |  November 1, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    Love that sweater!!! I showed my mom the pic and she chuckled because since I have taught her how to knit she won’t stop making washcloths (she has made a few scarves) but she is te queen of the washcloth. 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. zenzele  |  November 2, 2007 at 1:29 pm

    Love the sweater! Unfortunately, it is no longer available from their website.

    Reply
  • 11. ericamakesstuff  |  November 2, 2007 at 9:40 pm

    I know, I am so bummed that the pattern is no longer available. I wish everyone could make it, it really is that beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

My most Recent Posts


