Refashions!

October 24, 2007 at 5:48 pm 5 comments

In conjunction with my Wardrobe Refashion promise, I have recently completed a few new refashions for my wardrobe. Lately, I have been aware that I have a lack of shirts to wear. Luckily, after sifting through my “to-do” pile (it’s huge), I found several dresses that I could refashion into shirts to incorporate into my everyday wardrobe.

First, I had this super long (to the floor) knit dress that I bought at an expensive boutique for $4. It was on super clearance because the bodice was tearing and the dress needed repairs. I liked the fabric, so I bought it but never did anything with it. A year later, I fixed the bodice and chopped off the skirt to make this:

geometrictop_recon.jpg

A  super comfy, light-weight knit cami. I also have plenty of leftover fabric to make something else.

Lurking in the pile was this all black, shirtdress with a HUGE circle skirt. I thought the dress was cute, but it was so heavy and black that it made me look like I was going to a funeral. I cut off about 12″ of the skirt and then removed some of the volume by removing strategically cut triangles from the skirt. This created a little blouse that will be perfect for everyday wear:

black_shirt_recong.jpg

The “to-do” pile also contained this dress that I created from a vintage Butterick pattern, however it came out way too big and I couldn’t decide what to do with it.

pinkflowerdress_b4.jpg

 So I turned it into a fresh new top:

pinkflowerdress_recon.jpg

I also tailored a pair of stretchy, flared jeans into skinny jeans!

skinnyjeans.jpg

And that’s all for now! I am slowly working through the pile. Lots more in store, with a couple of tutorials on the way as well. Sorry about the bad quality photos, I really need a new digital camera! Any suggestions?

Entry filed under: Blogroll, Sewing.

Other People Make Stuff, too…. Refashioned Sweater into Cardigan

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hoganfe  |  October 24, 2007 at 6:29 pm

    Great designs!

    Reply
  • 2. Tara  |  October 24, 2007 at 8:25 pm

    Super, super, super cute. Did I, umm, mention your projects are super cute. very talented. Love the refashions.

    Reply
  • 3. southerngirlmusings  |  October 24, 2007 at 9:13 pm

    Great refashions! I love the vintage Butterick dress to top.

    Reply
  • 4. :-)  |  October 26, 2007 at 12:08 am

    I just found your blog. And, i like the little I’ve read. Do you have an RSS feed? I don’t see a way to add you to my blog reader! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Rebecca  |  April 14, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    I have never done any sewing and would like to learn. I like your style. I was wondering how to turn my flared jeans into skinny ones, like you have done.
    Any “step by step” advice for me?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

My most Recent Posts


