See? I still make stuff…

October 8, 2007 at 7:56 am 6 comments

Yes, I know. I’ve been away for a little while, not my intentions but that’s what happens sometimes. The good news is I have a few new projects that I’ve finished as I enter week #2 of my Wardrobe Refashion. I am happy to report that I have not purchased any new clothing, however, I did break down and buy some new fabric….oh well.  On to my projects!

I made a simply short jacket with kimono style sleeves from this pattern, view A:

mccalls_pattern.jpg

I thought I would really love it, made up in some steel blue corderoy fabric.

short_jacket1.jpg

I have not finished  it yet, I still need to hem the edges and add a button at the collar. It didn’t take me very long, although the directions could be a bit more explicit. I don’t love the way it looks on me; it is just super baggy (that’s the style, Erica…) so I may play around with it a little more.

short_jacket2.jpg and one more…. short_jacket3.jpg

Secondly, I made a dress from this pattern:

simplicity_pattern.jpg

Yes, of course I know that isn’t a dress pattern, per se, but I just did a few simple changes and voila! A new dress:

plaid_dress_finishes.jpg

Details on the changes: Very simply, you extend the hem line from the bodice to any length you desire. I added 9 inches to mine and it hits me right at the knee.

plaid_dress2.jpg

Make sure you cut both your front and back pieces to the same length. Then you can finish the pattern with the normal instructions. I love this pattern! I am not so crazy about this particular fabric pairing with this dress, but it fits well. I would love to create a knit dress with a different fabric for the collar and sleeves. This pattern is really adaptable and is a great purchase. I can’t wait to make something else from it.

plaid_dress_bodixe.jpg

Close-up of bodice

One last thing! I knit a handbag from a Knitting Daily pattern (if you haven’t signed up already, what are you waiting for?). I chose Lion Brand Vanna’s Choice in Rose. It was only around $5 for two skeins and I didn’t even use all of it! The bag knit up rather quickly, seaming and lining took about 2 hours. Although the pattern called for knitting needles instead of binding off, I decided to do the latter and attach a vintage button for closure.

knit_bag.jpg

Things I would change? I would make the handles shorter, make the bag wider and shorten this as well. It is really roomy, though! I can’t wait to use it…

To line a knitted bag, I just measured some fabric (you will only use about 1/4 of a yard) with my knitted bag piece comme ca,

knit_bag_project.jpg

And then press down the top edge to conceal any raw edges:

knit_bag_project2.jpg

And then handstitch it into your bag. Tres simple.

I know this post is just overflowing with photos, but here is one more. My new fabric purchase, Amy Butler Nigella. This print is HUGE and I have 1 1/2 yards from a 64″ bolt, plenty to do a number of things, but what should I make?

butler_fabric.jpg

On a last note, I need a new digital camera. xo.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, Knitting, Sewing.

Wardrobe Refashion Life always gets in the way…

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jessecoug  |  October 10, 2007 at 4:30 am

    I am in love with that jacket! I aspire to be able to sew like that! Also, the dress is really cute as well. But that jacket is amazing. I am pretty jealous!

    Reply
  • 3. jessecoug  |  October 10, 2007 at 7:28 pm

    I would absolutely be willing to buy it! 🙂 I will leave this comment on your blog as well in case you don’t see this.

    My email is humanerecipe/yahoo

    Reply
  • 4. Rachel  |  October 14, 2007 at 10:20 pm

    You are so productive! I’m jealous of your time and energy. :c) Everything is beautiful, great job. That Amy Butler print is yummy, too. I can picture at cute sundress out of it.
    I’ve been lurking at Wardrobe Refashion, and it’s very inspiring.

    Reply
  • 5. Sam  |  October 25, 2007 at 7:58 pm

    Your dress from S3838 looks great! I made a summer tunic which I love, and now I’m considering a dress. Did you have to take out any of the fullness from the bottom piece though? I found it to be really full, so I cut it down.

    I love the Amy Butler print – it’s delish! My problem with those fabrics is I can never decide what I would like to make from it – I just covet and stash!

    Reply
  • 6. ericamakesstuff  |  October 26, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    Thanks for all your comments! I did not need to cut down on the fullness of the skirt, I thought it had a perfect amount of fullness. Adapting this pattern to make a dress is so easy, give it a try!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

My most Recent Posts


