A solution for my knitting…

September 26, 2007 at 7:14 pm 2 comments

If you’re anything like me, you constantly have WIP and skeins of yarn hanging around the house getting in the way of everything.  Plus having two adorable kittens who love to eat yarn does not help matters. My solution was simple: I found a small basket that closed like a briefcase from Thrift Town for $3.00.  I decided that it needed to be lined to keep from all my lace-weight yarns from snagging on the edges of the basket. Here is how I went about it…

knitbasket8.jpg

I measured the insides, top and bottom to determine what size my lining was to be.

knitbasket9.jpg

I then added approximately 1/2″ to allow for the pressing under of each side ( you could also serge the edges if you were so inclined). Then I cut my pieces of cute fabric for the lining to the measurements.

knitbasket6.jpg

Press under 1/4″ on each side of fabric, like so….

knitbasket4.jpg

Then stitch with a contrasting or complimentary thread color along each side on your machine and press seams with warm iron. knitbasket3.jpg

I then layed each piece in their respective sides and stitched a few anchoring stitches through the weaves in the basket:

knitbasketproject2.jpg

I added a pocket to the top to keep all my little knitting notions in, which is completely optional of course…

knitbasket_done.jpg

Et, voila! It took me less than 30 minutes to complete and fits 3 or 4 projects at a time, fully protected from my kittens.

Oh, did you notice my new Denise Interchangeable Knitting Needles? I got them about a month ago and they are seriously my new favorite thing. 10 pairs of circular knitting needles with various lengths of cords and extenders. For around $50 this is the best deal ever! Treat yourself and get yourself a set.

Entry filed under: Crafts, Knitting. Tags: , , , , .

Sweet Autumn Jacket & Simple Black Dress Wardrobe Refashion

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

My most Recent Posts


