Sweet Autumn Jacket & Simple Black Dress

September 22, 2007 at 10:24 pm 12 comments

I love jackets. I think it is because I love jacket weather. In Texas, this comes very late, but where I am from in Connecticut, it’s already jacket time. I made this jacket in 100% wool with a lovely pale pink cotton/poly lining. I plan on making at least several more…perhaps with slight modifications. I used this pattern and it was not only easy to use, but it was a quick project, taking me about 2-3 hours. The pattern has great modifications for the collar and it would be easy to shorten or lengthen the arms and bodice of this jacket. It calls for buttons down the front, but I chose to use one vintage button for the very top to allow the jacket to be open.

The wool was a total steal at $2 a yard. For 100% buttery soft wool? That’s a deal of a lifetime. I can’t wait to make a few more in red and yellow plaids……

Of course, I needed something lovely to wear underneath my jackets, and I thought it would suit perfectly to have a simply knit dress to showcase the jacket. I really like the look of the high-waisted, A-line skirt dresses that have been popular over the summer and chose this pattern:

It was only 99 cents and I love view A. It calls for only knits (which made me a little sad), and I chose some leftover black knit fabric I was using for making hoodies:

It is lightweight enough to make a lovely flowy dress, but also heavy enough to stay warm on any fall evening.

Prep and cutting work was a little under an hour, I always press my pattern pieces with a warm iron to ensure proper sizing.

I lined the dress bodice with the same fabric but I left the skirt unlined because I thought that lining it may weigh it down a bit too much for my taste. Sewing the entire dress took about 1 hour 15 minutes, and a little over 30 minutes to put the elastic in the waistline (the pattern was a bit confusing about this part, but I got it!)

After turning up the hem, the dress is finished (please ignore the one light spot on the bodice…that is the sun peeking through my window):

And a full length view:

All in all I like the dress, it fits well (action shots to come, I promise) and is quite comfortable. It needs a little dressing up, but that’s where my jacket comes in. I think I will use the pattern again, perhaps adding a zipper so I can use non-knit fabrics (this dress is pullover style).  It makes me glad that I have one outfit done for autumn, with more on the way.

Entry filed under: Sewing. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Fitted Knits Project #1 A solution for my knitting…

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. southerngirlmusings  |  September 23, 2007 at 12:46 am

    Both are very nice and seemed to sew up quickly. Love the wool for the jacket.

    Reply
  • 2. thedomesticdiva  |  September 23, 2007 at 3:47 am

    how beautiful!!! Nice job!

    Reply
  • 3. Aimee  |  September 30, 2007 at 5:29 pm

    I just made that McCalls dress too – you can probably find my post on Wadrobe Refashion. I wore it to a party Friday night and got several nice compliments on it. I even managed to refrain from saying “Thanks, it’s homemade!”. 🙂 Looks like you had an easier time than me – I spend quite a lot of time cursing at my machine…

    I look forward to seeing more of your projects, good job!

    Reply
  • 4. Aimee  |  September 30, 2007 at 5:29 pm

    And I meant “Wardrobe Refashion” obviously! 😉

    Reply
  • 5. Retro Fashion  |  October 12, 2007 at 11:41 pm

    All the old stuff I wore as a child is coming back. Kinda scary and makes you feel old, but it looks great most of the time.

    Reply
  • 6. A new dress… «  |  November 2, 2007 at 9:48 pm

    […] , and the skirt is a 1960’s vintage fabric that I had laying around. I put the two together, using this pattern, and now I have a lovely new dress for my wardrobe. Of course, this is all due to my affiliation […]

    Reply
  • 7. Hadruska  |  March 8, 2008 at 2:06 am

    Hello. I just love the plaid jacket you’ve made. I would also like to make one myself. I was wondering If you could hand me in the pattern it woud be really heplful. thank you
    josy__vil@hotmail.com

    Reply
  • 8. kristen slater  |  February 11, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    wow get me a free pattern would ya ? 😉

    Reply
  • 9. Araluen  |  February 24, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    I am glad I found your site on technorati. Thank you for the sensible critique. Me and my wife were just preparing to do some research about this. I am very happy to see such great info being shared freely out there.
    Best Regards,
    Coleman from Miami city

    Reply
  • 10. Vilictuctinee  |  July 21, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    Hey.
    I the first time here.
    Wished to show to you,news Video

    http://catherinezetajones-nude.blogspot.com

    Reply
  • 11. Genti dama colorate  |  September 28, 2014 at 8:56 pm

    Hello there! Quick question that’s completely off topic.
    Do you know how to make your site mobioe friendly?
    My site looks weird when browsing from mmy iphone4. I’m trying to find a template orr plugin that might be able to correct thks problem.
    If you have any recommendations, please share. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 12. Genti Office  |  October 20, 2014 at 10:52 pm

    Ƭhank you for sharing уouг thoսghts. I truly appreciate your efforts and ӏ will be waiting for yoսr next write ups
    thanks once again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

My most Recent Posts


